It’s early!

Uuuuurgh! Good morning world. It’s 06.30 and it’s a Monday. that is never a fun combination anywhere in the world. 

It’s doubly difficult since today will be my first day back at work after a week off – easter holiday.

But I have brushed my teeth, weighed myself, thrown cold water on my face and am now sitting at the dining room table with a mug of real coffee in front of me. I have an hour to go from shambling zombie to vaguely human.

Did I mention weighing myself? Why I do believe that I did. You may have noticed that my beautiful alien wife knows a bit about weight loss. actually she knows a lot. She decided to find out the science behind weight control and then went for the direct method. 

She filtered out all the dietary schemes and claims from the adverts in the media and she found out a way that works. It even works for me – a grumpy bloke who didn’t really have an inclination to diet.

So what’s the secret? It’s really simple actually. Basically it’s calorie counting. You have a daily calorie goal and add up the calories of anything you eat until you hit that goal. don’t go over the daily goal and you will lose weight…. that’s it. 

It works, too. I decided many months ago that I was getting a “bit porky” (although considering the rising obesity in the UK I’m probably still not considered “overweight” by anyone but doctors). I adopted my beautiful alien wifes counting scheme and although I wasn’t as regimented or “serious” about it, I actually lost weight! Best thing is that you don’t give up “naughty food” – you just need to be aware of foods calorific content and keep an eye on the numbers. 

Of course you also probably need to make sure that your diet is balanced and you get all the proper vitamins and minerals. 

Like a lot of things My own calorie counting went out of the window a while back. I briefly became an alien in a tropical paradise and a weeks worth of amazing “foreign” food made me forget about my diet. 

I noticed though that since I stopped smoking (I consider myself as “almost” stopped) I have gotten porky again so it’s time to start eating sensibly. I have already lost a few kilos so that’s all good and promising. 

It’s now 07.00. 

I’ll have to leave for work soon. Second coffee now 🙂

It’s proper coffee too. Ground and filtered in a machine, not your instant freeze dried stuff. I realised a few years ago that it’s actually not too expensive to have real coffee. You can buy half decent ground coffee for £1 so even a coffee monster like me can have a decent brew. 

Ah… but I’m going to have to stop typing now. I need to get dressed and bugger off to work. 

At least I’m almost awake now.  

Leave a Reply

