long weekend….

Here in the UK there is another bank holiday. it’s basically a public holiday and today is monday.

What I love the most about bank holidays is not the prospect of a three-day weekend (which is awesome), or the fact that it’s a paid holiday (also awesome – day off work and still get paid). No, for me the best bit is first thing monday morning. I wake up without needing an alarm and even if it’s still early I can snuggle down in the duvet and not worry about rushing about getting ready for work.

ahhh… bliss!

My beautiful alien alluded to the fact that one can be either productive or “blobby” during long weekends (weekends in general for me!). I tend to steer towards the blobby end of that spectrum. yes, I know that I work during the week but I also know that I totally enjoy “not thinking” during my downtime. For me, everything slows down when im not at work. im either “recovering” from a hard (or stressful) week or I end up with no solid plans of things “to do”.

Oh, and when I say “not thinking” a mean that I use forms of escapism – computer games, or reading  – in order for my subconscious (or whatever “deep part it is”) to work through plans, ideas ,and stresses. I usually see it as a big cauldron of thoughts quietly bubbling away an a back room.

There is a happy mix this weekend though. I have spent my time both blobbing hard and “doing stuff”. I have been…. outside! *gasps*. We (my beautiful alien and myself) have been out and about not only doing mundane things (shopping – always fun with my beautiful alien), but we have also done some exploring.

er… by “exploring” I mean a brief visit to a “tourist-y” village and a drive around the city looking at property.

as for the blobby side of things….

I havent been “productive” but I have lost myself in a couple of good books. I have re-read “The White Tiger” (by Aravind Adiga)  – a really really good read!

I also found a book on my bookshelf that I hadn’t read before!  –  very rare and exciting occurrence  – it was a Clive Cussler novel called “The Pacific Vortex”. that, too was pretty good.

and now… now I am re-reading “The Persona Protocol” by Andy McDermott.

…yeah, I have spent a lot of time in my broken office chair reading with my feet up while drinking copious amounts of filter coffee.

All in all, my kinda weekend.

except that I have just realised that there is still some more laundry and general housework to do. meh, not yet though. it’s a holiday

 

Leave a Reply

