Control

I just learned about this thing called Daily Prompt. I think this is a brilliant thing to have. I think the idea is very similar to word of the day (it is “dox”, just in case you want to know), the difference is that with Daily Prompt, the word is given as the topic of the day, for you to write something. I think it is awesome, as it is not only work as a challenge, but also giving an idea of what to write when you practically have nothing to write.

A couple of days ago, I participated when the word was “yarn”, of course on my other blog where I posted a lot about my knitting projects. I mean, it is almost an insult not to participate in that particular topic, isn’t it?

Today’s word, is apparently ” Control“.

IMG_3658[1].JPG

I’ve struggled to decide whether I like yarn or control better. I think both are in my list of my favourite things — for different reason, but funnily enough could be related to each other. How? Well… Yarn sale makes me lose control, and when I try to maintain control, I would have to let go of some of my yarns… How’s that for confusing?

However, if I have to choose, I will definitely choose to be in control. I have experienced the moment where I don’t have control with things that happened in my life, and it was horrible. However it was also then, when I learned that even when I can’t control the situation surrounding me, there’s always one thing that I can take control over.

Myself.

Maybe it was that time when I started to get a little bit over the top with self-discipline, taking notes of what I eat, keeping up with my personal budget, making plans and making sure that the plans are executed properly… It gives me the sense of safety. Maybe it was why I don’t like it when I’ve been told that the plan is “to go with the flow”, or last-minute cancellation, or someone comes to visit unannounced while I have a plan to be a hermit for the day…

Some might say that I am a control freak. I don’t think so.

I don’t see anything wrong with being organised. I think it is completely logical not to put ourselves in a situation where things could just go entirely wrong. And, really, wouldn’t it give you this sense of victory when you can take an ultimate control of your body and mind

Well… for me it does. AND, if it makes me a control freak, I don’t mind at all.

8 thoughts on “Control”

  1. Order/Control/Balance=Peace.

    People can tell me otherwise…but those in control seem more at peace than those living the day-to-day life. Especially with things erupt into chaos around them–those in control are, (as James Allen once put it):

    “The strong, calm man is always loved and revered. He is like a shade-giving tree in a thirsty land, or a sheltering rock in a storm…Calmness of mind is one of the beautiful jewels of wisdom. It is the result of long and patient effort in self-control. Its presence is an indication of ripened experience, and of a more than ordinary knowledge of the laws and operations of thought.”

    It is admirable to be striving towards something better. To those who would discourage you from this less-traveled path, I know that in my own experiences it is mostly due to people not wanting to see others succeed where they cannot.
    I know when I was younger, I was guilty of being that way.

    Since then I’ve learned that there are more important things in life than just what makes me happy. For example (as you have discovered) there’s controlling one’s self (emotions, physical wants, thoughts). There’s the happiness of others. There’s that whole thing on simply doing what’s right.

    You are taking ‘The Road Less Traveled’.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🙂 Yes, a lot of people prefer to do things the easier way, like: “why bother trying to lose weight? i don’t want to starve myself just to fit in bla bla bla”. Or “YOLO, live a little… what’s the worst that gonna happen..”. I mean, I don’t mind adventure, but I like some research before going on one…

      Like

Leave a Reply

