The Late Night Baking

Last night I suddenly had this urge to go to the kitchen and bake a batch of brownie. I thought it’s going to be a sweet surprise for my dear Grumper — which hopefully could lessen the grumpiness of having to go to work without fresh brewed coffee, especially after a horrible night sleep. Afterall, I imagine, nobody could be too grumpy while munching a slice of fudgy nutty brownie… right?

Although this is not my first time baking at night, I haven’t done this too often. Usually I waited when Grumpy went to his regular meet up with his buddy, or when he’s asleep like last night. Nothing can beat the feeling of baking late at night like this…

Of course a lot of people have used creative activities like knitting, painting, baking, gardening, or even… writing to help improving their mental wellbeing. The process of producing something, the sense of achievment, or even the feeling of connection to others — when making something for others, could give this feelgood sensation. I can totally understand this.

So far, though, nothing beats the feeling of baking at night for me.

It is almost meditative.

Preparing, chopping, measuring, sifting, mixing… Pouring, leveling, folding, spooning… baking, waiting with that soft jazzy tune in the background, smelling the goodness escaping from the oven door. You know that brownie would be ready in a minute. All done without racing with dinner time, or distraction from the little devil incarnations in the form of neighbour kids playing football in out back garden. In that kitchen last night, it was only me… and the holy brownie.

It calmed me down. It lifted my mood up. And at that very moment, I thought… everybody has to try baking.

But of course, it is different for everybody, isn’t it? I know for some people baking or cooking is more stressfull than anything. Maybe if I have to… umm… doing some lifting at the gym? I would feel more furious than calm, although for some people it was their stress release. My sister plays tennis, and my brother has his Brazillian Jiujitsu. My late grandfather played music, and practiced penmanship, and my grandmother is still the kitchen goddess as she has been for decades.

What’s yours?

 

 

Sources:
http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/improve-wellbeing-knitting-baking-painting-mental-health-study-tips-a7438471.html
https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2013/jul/03/can-baking-improve-mental-health
http://www.cosmopolitan.com/uk/worklife/a9239583/baking-good-mental-health/
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/baking-for-others-psychology_us_58dd0b85e4b0e6ac7092aaf8?
2 thoughts on “The Late Night Baking”

  1. Reading as long as the day is open to just read.
    Martial Arts.
    Writing, so long as the distractions are minimal.
    Cooking.
    Music, so long as it is the only sound I hear. (The ability to go through and focus on every instrument individually if I wanted too).
    Working on computers. Again, no distractions.
    Video games focused around exploration and/or story.

    Like

Leave a Reply

