Starving the caveman .1

Saturday night/Sunday morning – 1 day before quit date.

Initially today – Saturday – was my planned quit date. I changed my mind and moved it to Monday because I figured that my first day might be easier with the distraction of work.

I took today as a kind of pseudo quit day. I tried to go as long as I could without having a rollup.

It wasn’t as horrible as I thought. I have had 3 today and managed until around 5 or 6pm before caving in and having my first.

The pills must be working because not only did I not get too twitchy during the day, I also didn’t actively want the rollups. They also tasted…. manky.

Hopefully I can do similar tomorrow. If I can either not smoke or only have a few then Monday will be easier.

6 thoughts on “Starving the caveman .1”

  1. Oh how I have traveled this same path so many times…not with smoking, but with other vices that have far too much control. “When the body is weak, the more it obeys, when it is strong the more it obeys”, has kind of become my mantra.
    For instance, one of them is sugar. I don’t drink or smoke…so I suppose my outlet is sugar. It’s readily available. Fairly inexpensive. I think last week was my dozenth time saying, “Okay last candy bar(s) today, and I’m sticking to it from here on out.

    One might think, “Well sugar isn’t like smoking.” Ha. Hahahaha. True, it won’t attack your lungs the way tobacco can. It does numbers on your teeth however. And how much fat your body stores. Believe it or not, it can be just as addictive for some people. Over time it also opens up all kinds of health issues.
    If you’ve ever had cancer before, (which I have) I have been told to stay away from sugary snacks because of how sugar stimulates cancer cells.

    Anyhow. I do have a point to all this.

    I found that when I compete with someone for something, that I do better than when I am simply relying on my own willpower to do so. I am not saying I only exercise willpower when I compete. I am saying that with especially difficult things it is helps when there is someone you have to prove yourself too.

    I lost the most weight in my life when some girl told me I couldn’t. I started writing books because someone told me I couldn’t. Most of my greatest accomplishments have happened because someone told me it wasn’t possible, or I was too weak, or not smart enough…
    Which is interesting to note–I do my best work when people are hard on me, not when I get the continued praise and acceptance from others.

    Granted, it’s nice to have support from friends and family. What people trying to accomplish something don’t need is a trophy or words such as, “Do what makes you feel good,” and “Follow your heart” and “All you can do is try your best”. Thank the Christian and Pagan Gods I never listened to any of that dribble.

    And Grumpy, I know you know this.

    Keep doing what your doing and do not under any circumstance, allow what you cannot do, define what you can. In my own past, my biggest downfall was getting hung up on mistakes or convincing myself there wasn’t a point.
    The only way to beat our inner demons is to stand up and fight back. Can’t very well do that if we let who we were determine who we’re gonna be tomorrow.

    Again I will say it is admirable for what you are doing, but you need to stop giving in. What are you doing when you decide to smoke? I’m going to say what my parents always told me in my time growing up: “Obviously you have too much free time if you are going to spend it doing ____.” It was true. I can try and justify it however I want–but if something is important, I will find a way to make time for it. If it isn’t, I’ll make an excuse.

    Identify those moments of weakness and remove them. It is an easy solution, but very (if not impossible at times) to put into action. Also I can say from firsthand experience, it is easier to abstain than it is to resist. Do not partake, even in the smallest amount.

    I will leave you with this quote from Rocky Balboa. It is one of my favorites and I listen to it often. Keep up the fight. Know that one of your readers will be disappointed in you if you fall short, because he has a pretty good idea the kind of people you are and knows the strength you possess.

    Stop giving in.

    From Rocky Balboa:
    Let me tell you something you already know. The world ain’t all sunshine and rainbows. It’s a very mean and nasty place and I don’t care how tough you are it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain’t about how hard ya hit. It’s about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. That’s how winning is done! Now if you know what you’re worth then go out and get what you’re worth. But ya gotta be willing to take the hits, and not pointing fingers saying you ain’t where you wanna be because of him, or her, or anybody! Cowards do that and that ain’t you! You’re better than that!

    Like

  2. Ah yes. I think that I can relate to the sugar thing. At least In the context of “nibbles”. I realise that I am ok unless there are any forms of “junk food” in the house. Be it crisps or choc bars or anything like that. Basically if it’s here ill scoff it.
    If it’s not then that’s fine – no major cravings for nibbles.
    Funny thing though. I’m starting to eat way too much now that I’m craving nicotine. Transference, much?
    Anyway, it’s something I’ll have to sort soon since I’m already a fat bastard.
    As for competitive quitting. That doesn’t work for me. I have to do it alone. Possibly because I usually have to rely only on myself and I’m not used to encouragement.
    Plus if I feel pressured to do stuff I automatically rebel.
    Oh! And cool avatar. It’s splinter cell, right?

    Like

      1. Splinter cell is awesome. Think I have played most of them now but last time was ages ago.
        I never payed much attention to win the bad guys were – I just got them out of my way 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

