starving the caveman…

These posts are getting fewer and fewer. There is a reason for this.

I have mentioned that I have been a heavy smoker for years. I had to admit to myself that it was an addiction and a compulsion. 

I also mentioned that I decided to stop taking the pills a week or so ago, surely because they were making me feel nauseous. It was definitely a risk since I wasn’t sure if I could starve the caveman – that I could rely purely on willpower- and stop smoking

I have had a revelation. I have realised that although I still have am occasional smoke (usually when the “urge” gets too much), I am no longer fully dependent on cigarettes. 

What I mean is that there is no longer a smoking routine and I don’t feel the need to habitually smoke.

This in itself is a major thing for me. more so since I am doing it without any “medical support”. I think that the pills broke a lot of cycles and habits. I also think that my dependence on smoking has been very significantly reduced. 

I would like to think that anyone reading this post (and the previous ones) will be encouraged if they are trying to quit or cut down. 

As for me… I’m still hoping to totally quit but I am very pleased to be at “this stage”.

Leave a Reply

